Author: Rod Ellis, Leatherhead FC Match Reporter

Hanworth Villa 0 Leatherhead 0

Leatherhead earned a point in a goalless draw against mid table hosts Hanworth Villa in a match which created few opportunities for either side.
Tanners boss Hayden Bird brought in goalkeeper Serine Sannah to make his debut in place of an unavailable Slavomir Huk.

The former Kingstonian keeper had very little to do in the first half, but
made some key saves in the latter stages of the match to hold the Villains at bay.

Leatherhead dominated possession in the opening half but had very little to show for it. Keane Anderson produced Tanners’ first shot on target after 29 minutes, but his long range effort was easily gathered by Villains keeper Gary Ross.

Hanworth’s well organised defence continually denied Leatherhead, with the visitors repeatedly caught offside and restricted to a handful of half chances in the closing stages of the first half.

On 39 minutes, Dave Tarpey took control of the ball inside the Villains’ penalty area, but the heavily marked Tanners skipper was given no room to unleash a shot. Tarpey laid off a pass to Keane Anderson, but the young midfielder’s effort was blocked by a Hanworth defender.

The Villians had more possession in the second half and created the better chances to break the deadlock. On 50 minutes the referee played advantage when Hanworth’s Anthony Foikes was brought down on the half way line, allowing Kyen Nicholas to press forward and force a smart save
from Sanneh.

The Leatherhead keeper was kept busy in the closing minutes of the match, blocking Bruno Tingle’s close range header and skilfully dealing with Sam Merson’s long range throw-ins deep into the visitors’ penalty area.

The result sees Leatherhead extend their unbeaten run in all competitions to four matches as they prepare for the visits of Frimley Green in the Southern Combination Challenge Cup on Thursday before Chertsey Town return to Fetcham Grove on Saturday for a League match.

Hanworth Villa: Gary Ross, Tom Jelley, James Fenlon (Anthony Foikes 25), Ben Geraghty, Guy Ansah-Palmer, Tom Bender, Bruno Tingle, Jacob Erskine (Gagendeep Samra 45), Sam Merson, Kyen Nicholas (Jordan Ellis 71), Theo Crawford
Leatherhead: Serine Sannah, Jamie Splatt (Olly Allen 82), Louis Collins, Jerry Puemo, Fikayo Atewologun, Alpha Diallo (Maxwell Mullins 72), Keane Anderson (Archie Burnett 64), Kenny Beaney, Dave Tarpey, Dan Hector, Omarr Lawson